Lists of Nominees
Documents to Print

And the Winner for 2013 is....

Divergent by Veronica Roth

by Veronica Roth

Beatrice lives in a future where she must choose between five factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she learns she doesn't belong in any one faction in a society that is far from perfect.

Discussion Module

A Voice for Teen Literature

The Rhode Island Teen Book Award is a collaborative project of the School Librarians of Rhode Island (SLoRI) and the Rhode Island Library Assocation (RILA).

The goal of the Rhode Island Teen Book Award is to promote quality literature for teens by highlighting well-written books that will be of interest to those between the ages of 12 and 18 years of age. It is the hope of the committee that by allowing teens to select the winner from each year's list of nominees, teens will be encouraged to not only read more, but also discuss the books they are reading with their friends and family at school, the local library, and at home.

Current RITBA Committee Membership:
Paula Anderson, Linda Archetto (Cranston Public Library), Stephanie Barta (Coventry Public Library), Jennifer Beiermann (Warwick Public Library), Jillian Belanger (Providence Carer & Technical Academy), Ellen Bennett (Cranston Public Library),Shannon Bloom (Pawtucket Public Library), Donna Broomfield (Woonsocket High School), Kristen Capaldi (Cranston High School-West), Natalie Coolen (Maury Lootjens Memorial Library in Narragansett), Aaron Coutu (Cumberland Public Library), Kate Covintree (Wheeler School), Tonya Curt (Woonsocket Middle School), Sally Curtis (Burrillville Middle School), Joan Eldredge-Mouradjian (Narragansett Pier MS), Lee-Ann Galli (Exeter Public Library), Kathy Gendron (St. Mary's/Bayview Academy), Lisa Girard (Gallagher MS in Smithfield), Donna Good (Narragansett High School), Danielle Grise (Porsmouth HS), Gretchen Hanley (Lincoln Public Library), Lexi Henshel, Rhonda Hevenor (Greenville Public Library), Deb Hobday (LaSalle Academy), Diane Hogan (East Greenwich Public Library) Sarah Hunicke (Portsmouth High School), Kelly Inman (West Warwick High School), Janet Johnson (Rhode Island College), Brandi Kenyon (South Kingstown Public Library/Chairperson), Colleen LeComte (Porsmouth PL), Sharon Lux (Coventry Public Library), Ann Malbon (Woonsocket Middle School at Vlla Nova), Tarryn Maynard (Providence Career & Technical Academy), Meg McGuire (Curtis Corner MS in South Kingstown), Sarah Morenon (Nathanael Greene Middle School), MaryEllen Munroe, Denise Peloquin-Burns (The Prout School/Treasurer), Kasia Piasecka (Tiverton Free Library), Ashley Prior (Lincoln Public Library), Joan Smith (Cranston Public Library/Secretary), Andria Tieman (Rochambeau Library of Providence Community Libraries/Vice-Chair), Michael Vieira (Roger Williams University)

The RITBA logo was created by Hillary J. Matoian, a 10th Grade LaSalle Academy student in 2001.
The RITBA website is designed and maintained by Aaron Coutu, the RITBA Committee Chair.

| ©2004- ~ Rhode Island Teen Book Award Committee | Aaron Coutu, Webmaster | Brandi Kenyon, Chair